Focus on what you could eat MORE of…

Quote and photograph by The Nutrition Guru

Healthy eating isn’t just about NOT eating chocolate and cake, but so much more than that. It is making sure that your body is receiving all the right nutrients in the required amounts that it needs to do it’s job and keep us functioning.

We don’t think twice about what it takes to keep our body functioning, but it is is definitely a strenuous job as it works tirelessly and endlessly to keep us alive. Every beat of our heart takes vitamins, minerals, carbohydrates, fat and protein. Every time we lift our arm, it take the same nutrients to contract our bicep.  Without iron we can’t deliver the oygen we breathe in, to each of the trillions of cells in our body. Without vitamin K (found in green leady vegetables) our blood would not clot, and we would bleed out as soon as we received the tiniest of cuts.

When people want to become healthy they often write out a list of ‘won’ts’. I will not eat chocolate this week. I will not have coffee tomorrow. I will not eat icecream for 3 weeks. Will not let myself have any cake for a whole month.

But think about it, all it does is make us concentrate on what we are not allowed to have. Studies on children have shown that when a child is not allowed by their parents to have a particular food, that this increases their desire for that food. As well as this, when they are finally allowed to have that food, they binge on it and are unable to control their intake.

Instead, choosing to eat MORE healthy foods is a far more positive way to look at becoming healthy. I’ll give you an example. If say to myself: Today I am going to eat 5 serves of vegetables and 2 serves of fruit. By 2pm when I’m hungry and realise I have only eaten 1 piece of fruit so far, I will choose to eat an apple in order to reach my goal.

So, my body has all the benefits of a lovely healthy apple and all of it’s nutrients instead of that chocolate bar that definately  would have scoffed down if I had chosen to ‘not eat chocolate today’.

Give it a go, choose some healthy foods that you identify that you could eat more of. You might just be pleasantly surprised.

Until next time,

The Nutrition Guru

4 thoughts on “Focus on what you could eat MORE of…

    • Thanks Imelda! It’s hard to get my point accross without appearing arrogant in regards to the sugar book on facebook. I’m glad you see my point of view!

  1. Pingback: Celebrating a Milestone | The Nutrition Guru and the Chef

  2. Pingback: Goals to Live a Healthy Life | The Nutrition Guru and the Chef

What do you think?

