I feel wealthy when I am healthy

I have recently been suffering from lengthy chronic pain, not being able to eat solid food for 9 months, and a time in hospital. You can read the story here. Although the last 9 months have been exhausting mentally and physically,  I now have a much kinder outlook on life.

It’s not until your health is taken away from you, that you really realise how lucky you are. All of a sudden, all the little things that were once big things really do become insignificant.

Once, cranky petrol station attendants used to really get on your nerves but now you see he’s just an overworked man who might have a back ache. You’re legs that are short and bum that is a little bit too big was once a an absolute disaster but now you are grateful just to have  legs and a bum no matter how big it is. Those telephone bills you  have to sit down and pay that always used to give you the peeves because you would do it via phone talking to a computer generated voice, is now a breeze because you are grateful to even have ears to be able to hear the computer voice on the other end of the phone.

Many people put a lot of focus, determination, time and effort into working hard, making money, saving money, investing money and building superannuation in order to create ‘wealth’. It is very easy to put healthy eating and exercise on the bottom of the list of life’s chores, but what is wealth if you don’t have your health?

What is the point of all the money if you develop heart disease from eating too much saturated fat? What is the point of all the money if you can’t read the morning newspaper because years of unhealthy eating, no exercise and obesity has led to Type 2 diabetes and eventually degeneration of your macular. What is the point of the wealth if you can’t even spend your money at a restaurant because you are stuck indoors with exhaustion and depression from being overworked? What is the point of the wealth if you have to keep working long hours just to pay for the new clothes every season because you just keep putting on weight.

If you have your health, I can assure you that you will forever feel wealthy. You will be able to enjoy every little bit of life’s moments and feel like you can conquer the world, and because of this be a happier and more successful person.

So let’s start putting our health before our wealth and we will feel wealthy because we are healthy.

Until next time,

The Nutrition Guru x

5 thoughts on “I feel wealthy when I am healthy

  1. Pingback: Goals to Live a Healthy Life | The Nutrition Guru and the Chef

  2. Hi Tara,
    Lovely post. I’ve been reading quite a few of your posts on positive thinking etc., so wasn’t too sure where to write. In the last year or so I’ve changed my whole lifestyle. I started exercising and eating really healthy, being mindful of what I put into my body. I lost quite a few kilos and was hoping to continue with this as I hadn’t reached my ‘goal’ weight yet. Then I suddenly started getting pain in my hip and leg. After going to a physio I was told that I can’t exercise (apart from walking) and that my posture is completely messed up. After extensive physio I went to an exercise physiotherapist who helped me greatly and basically I was able to start exercising without any pain. I was really excited about this because it meant I could start working on my fitness and strength, however the last week I started getting pain again. Sorry for making this story so long, but I’m sure there a few people in my position who whenever they think they’re getting ahead, lightning strikes, and we’re back to square one. It seems like I’ll never be able to get to the peak physique I was a few months back and it’s really hard to stay optimistic. I know I’m very lucky as I am healthy, I don’t have any incurable disease or I’m not bed ridden, but it’s hard to stay positive when things strike you down sometimes. Thought I would share, it helped me quite a bit to get this off my chest.

    Joanna

  3. Thanks for you message Joanna,

    Sorry to hear that you have been unwell recently. It is hard to stay positive sometimes isn’t it.

    You may not know, but the reason I went to uni to become a Nutritionist was because I was a personal trainer and dancer and had to have a large surgery on my hip. I spent many years in a lot of pain before it was diagnosed, and then 5 months in a wheelchair after the surgery.

    Recently, I had a problem where I was unable to eat solid food and had chronic chest pain. You can read the story here https://thenutritionguruandthechef.wordpress.com/2013/05/26/the-girl-with-the-strange-eosophagus/

    I know what it’s like to be wanting to be healthy, but your body letting you down. I also know how difficult it is to deal with pain. It is good that you are seeking treatment for your hip. Have they suggested swimming at all? As it is non weight bearing I found it was good to just walk in the pool. You still have to use your core and you can do some arm workouts in the shallow end.

    Try and stay as positive as you can, and realise that your physical fitness and what you look like isn’t the only measure of how healthy you are. Nor is the amount of exercise you do. It took me a long time to realise this, but once I did, I found it took a lot of the pressure off and I started to feel much better within myself.

    Stay strong.

What do you think?

