Top 3 Tips for Eating Less Processed Sugar

20130916-173628.jpgProcessed sugar, or table sugar, is a part of our food system whether we like it or not. We can’t escape it, though we can choose to eat less of it.

If you have recognised that you are eating too much, here are my top 3 tips to cutting those levels down.

1. Dates: Keep a jar of medjool dates handy. They are deliciously sweet, natural, and packed full of fibre. I call them ‘natures caramel’

2. Make it a goal to ‘cut it in half’: I find the cold turkey approach of ‘quitting sugar’ much less effective than gradually weaning your taste buds off sugar. Instead, if you have 1 teaspoon of sugar in your tea of coffee, aim to only have 1/2 teaspoon. Do this for 1 week then reduce by half again.

3. Don’t flatter yourself: I often hear at about 3pm people say “I need some sugar, I’ve got no energy”. Stop. You don’t NEED sugar, you are tired and you WANT sugar. There is a big difference and telling ourselves that we NEED it doesn’t do our subconscious mind any favours.

The Nutrition Guru and The Chef

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top 3 Tips for Eating Less Processed Sugar

What do you think?